Back to Blog
Product Guide13 July 2026Updated

Best Adjustable Dumbbells in Singapore (2026)

Choose adjustable dumbbells by the weight range, increments and exact model. The original BowFlex 552 and 1090 are excluded from our recommendations following the US recall.

Gyms.sg Editorial
A pair of unbranded adjustable dumbbells with stacked plates resting in their trays.

Buying through the Amazon links in this guide costs you nothing extra. We earn a small commission, which keeps Gyms.sg free and pays for guides like this one. As an Amazon Associate, Gyms.sg earns from qualifying purchases. OnWhey is our own supplement brand.

Choose adjustable dumbbells by the load per hand, the available increments and the exact mechanism you are buying. The original BowFlex SelectTech 552 is no longer our top pick: it and the original 1090 are covered by a US recall. A lower price or a returning listing does not resolve that issue.

The original BowFlex 552 and 1090 dumbbells are excluded from these recommendations following the CPSC recall of 5 June 2025 for plates detaching during use. If you own one, stop using it and read BowFlex's recall guidance. The published remedy process applies to the US and its territories; Singapore owners should ask BowFlex or their seller about their specific unit.

Diagram comparing a dial adjustment taking about two seconds with plate-select adjustment that requires stopping and rebuilding the handle

The difference that decides this comparison: a dial changes the load in seconds, a plate-select handle has to come apart and go back together at every weight change.

Write down the lightest and heaviest weights your routine needs before choosing a set. Compare those requirements with the exact selected variant, rather than a listing title that combines several weight ranges.

Every option at a glance

Product Price (SGD) Listed range Adjustment
ByZoom Fitness pair Check current price Not stated in full Plate select
110 lb Set (pair) Check current price 50kg combined Plate select
FEIERDUN pair Check current price Not stated in full Plate select
SKOK pair Check current price Not stated in full Plate select
25/55 lb Pair Set Check current price 25 or 55 lb per hand configs Plate select

Worth noticing: three of these listings don't fully state their own weight range, and that's the main spec you're paying for. Treat it as a serious mark against them.

110 lb set: for heavier lifters

110 lb adjustable dumbbell pair on storage trays

50kg combined across the pair, the heaviest documented option here. Image from the Amazon listing.

For a listing described as a 110 lb adjustable pair, confirm whether that capacity is combined or per hand, the smallest adjustment and the package quantity. This guide does not establish that it is the heaviest or only currently available option.

A higher maximum weight is useful only if you expect to use it. Compare the complete delivered set and plan where it will be stored, including the floor protection and clearance needed for your exercises.

Related reading: Home Gym Setup Under $2000 Singapore: Serious Lifter's Build.

ByZoom pair: the budget option, with a catch

ByZoom Fitness adjustable dumbbell pair in white

The cheapest set of the group. Image from the Amazon listing.

For the ByZoom pair, confirm the selected weight range and increments with the seller before ordering. Do not use a comparison against the withdrawn BowFlex 552 recommendation as a reason to buy.

If a listing does not make the weight per hand and adjustment increments clear, ask for the model specifications before paying. Choose another well-documented option if the seller cannot resolve those basics.

The three we'd skip

The FEIERDUN, SKOK and 25/55 lb listings describe different sets or variants. Compare each selected package on its own specifications and delivered total; the old BowFlex price comparison is no longer a valid buying benchmark.

The original BowFlex 1090 is also covered by the recall. Its absence from a retailer is not a reason to wait for that old model to return; distinguish it from the later Results Series before considering any listing.

Or just join a gym

Worth running the numbers before you buy anything. S$279.80 is roughly three months at a mid-range gym (memberships run about S$90 to S$110 a month), and any gym's rack goes well past 24kg without taking up space at home. If there's a good 24-hour gym near you, that might be the better deal: Anytime Fitness Chai Chee (4.8 stars, 579 Google reviews), Snap Fitness 888 Plaza (5.0, 762 reviews) and Anytime Fitness Jurong Summit (4.9, 411 reviews) are all solid options, and you can browse the rest of the 24-hour gyms here. A membership can be combined with a separate Yes4All HCR1 Neoprene Coated Kettlebell (6 kg) for home sessions if a 6 kg kettlebell suits the exercises you intend to do; it does not replace a pair of adjustable dumbbells. If you'd rather build a proper home setup, start with our S$1,000 home gym guide.

Common questions

Is the Bowflex SelectTech 552 worth it?

Do not choose the original BowFlex 552 or 1090 on the basis of its old price or weight range. Both are covered by the US recall. Identify the exact model and follow the manufacturer guidance; Singapore remedy eligibility must be checked with BowFlex or the seller.

What's the heaviest adjustable dumbbell set on Amazon?
The 110 lb adjustable pair at S$479.74 (as of July 2026), which is 50kg combined. Every other set we compared tops out lower, including the Bowflex SelectTech 552 at 23.8kg per hand.
Can you drop adjustable dumbbells?
Best to assume no. Bowflex's manual warns against dropping the SelectTech 552, and the adjustment mechanism is the fragile part on any adjustable set, cheap or premium. Lower your last rep under control, or do your heaviest work at a gym with fixed dumbbells built for it.
Are adjustable dumbbells cheaper than a gym membership?
Over a year, yes. The Bowflex SelectTech 552 costs S$279.80 once, while a mid-range membership runs about S$1,080 to S$1,320 a year. The trade-off is that a gym rack goes far past the 552's 23.8kg ceiling. It comes down to which one you'll still be using in six months.

Updated July 2026: prices checked against Amazon listings. PowerBlock Elite 90 still out of stock.